TMW Book Reviews

Cuauhtémoc: Deception and Treason

by D L Davies

Nothing in nature can relax better than a cat.

Cuauhtémoc: Deception and Treason is the fourth and final installment in the Cuauhtémoc series that binds this intriguing saga in a wholesome manner. Book one follows Cuauhtémoc’s first flight. Book two follows him establishing his reign as the Mayan emperor. Book three follows his journey to become the Chief Jaguar Priest. Finally, book four follows the journey and events as Maya becomes a world power. It opens with him as the Chief Jaguar Priest and his brothers making fun of his ‘cat’ form.

Then the storyline quickly escalates to Cuauhtémoc establishing Maya as a great world power while navigating various adversities and betrayals in an uphill battle. The world-building is as vivid and consuming as you’d expect from the author, and the plotting is thorough.

His creative flair is commendable. Combined with a complex plot filled with thrill and surprises is bound to hook readers.

The characters of not only the Birdman but that of other supporting characters are well-drawn as well. Reading this series was a journey in itself, and I feel a bit sad with it coming to an end, no matter how well the author gives us the closure.

A great ending to an explosive saga!

– The Moving Words Review

Official entry: The Most Moving Book Award, Jan. 3, 2022


About the Author

Visit the critically acclaimed and prolific author on his website