TMW Book Reviews

Spirituality in the 21st Century


Frank P. Daversa

Author Frank P. Daversa writes an excellent starting guide for individuals seeking spiritual enlightenment. In his book, “Spirituality in the 21st Century,” he writes about the factors that can lead to spiritual emptiness and the steps needed to nourish our souls. His book highlights the five principles of spiritual enlightenment, which include accepting Jesus Christ as our savior and learning more about our living environment.

While the author has a Catholic background, his message is non-denominational. He believes that spirituality transcends religious differences because it focuses on growth and becoming the best person we can be. With so many issues plaguing society and the earth, this view of acceptance is needed now more than ever.

“Spirituality in the 21st Century” isn’t a one-all-be-all guide to achieving spiritual enlightenment. Daversa even said himself that it serves as a primer for how you choose to move your growth forward. By incorporating his lessons with historical figures and sharing some of his life stories, he offers a relatable template for people who may feel lost or need inspiration. You may even find some of the most famous individuals in the world have their default spiritual journey.

Daversa does a great job of showcasing his book’s message clearly and concisely. As I read through the pages, I can’t help but admire how welcoming his words are—making it one of the most diplomatic spiritual books on the market today. If you have any questions concerning the “big picture,” this book may be the best starting point.

In conclusion, “Spirituality in the 21st Century” is a fine read. Even if you aren’t necessarily “lost,” you may find more than a few pearls of wisdom in this brief read. From achieving oneness to being one with your environment, you’ll find that your journey isn’t an overwhelming task but an exciting experience that you should embrace with open arms.

– The Moving Words Review

Official Entry: The Most Moving Book Award, Jan. 2, 2023